Darksiders: The Abomination Vault (Shot Deconstruction)

My first project this trimester is to choose a book of any kind and create a scene from it to your interpretation, you must then compose a shot in it and render it out. I thought i would talk today about the book i chose and break down my shot to its base components. The book my group chose is called Darksiders: The Abomination Vault and is the prequel book to the video game series of the same name. I chose the workshop scene halfway through the book to create. The protagonists of the book, Death and War, track down their enemies to their workshop where they have been producing hundreds of constructs composed of stone and brass. the chamber is described as quite large but with an incredibly high roof with many levels. Below is a rough draft video i rendered so some audio students at school could design some sounds for me.

My shot deconstruction will discuss each of its elements including; Lighting, Sound, Camera movement, and its Content

Lighting: When i was creating light for my scene i made sure to think about the workshops setting, for example the cavern was set deep underground so i made sure that the only light in the chamber was generated from lanterns i had made and that there were plenty of dark spaces. I also gave the light a lime green tinge to make the viewer feel ill at ease. The color green is usually associate with evil, like Slytherin in Harry Potter, and all the bad guys in Disney movies. This method has been used by Disney for decades now, and for good reason, as it works quite effectively.

 

Camera movement: I wanted to make my shot a slow, drawn out, curving zoom down through the workshop, this was done for a number of reasons. It allowed me to show off my work, showed the scope of the chamber, slowly revealed the boss construct at the bottom, and the rotation exaggerated the depth and gave the scene some character.

I took some inspiration from the climbing camera shots of Saruman tower in the Lord of the Rings movies.

 

 

Content: I wanted to really make it seem like an army had been constructed in the chamber so i studied the droid factory scene from Stat Wars: Episode 2 and the Rogue Robot scene from I, Robot.

 

I then grouped as many as Constructs into the scene as i could leaving room only for walkways and created many levels to place more on. I also wanted to allude to the size of this underground lair with out having to create more rooms, so i put bridges crisscrossing the scene to give the illusion there were more rooms out of sight.

Sound:

i collaborated with some audio students this for this assignment and told them that i wanted the mood to be sinister and have tons of echoey sounds to once more give the scene depth, and they didn’t disappoint, their first try at the sound is at the top of the blog.

 

Disney Movies Taught Us That Lime Green is a Harbinger of Evil | Oh My Disney. (2016). Ohmy.disney.com. Retrieved 26 August 2016, from https://ohmy.disney.com/movies/2015/11/12/disney-movies-taught-us-that-lime-green-is-a-harbinger-of-evil/

Gandalf and the Moth. (2016). YouTube. Retrieved 26 August 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGBwcfSIugE

Gandalf vs Saruman HD || Fight Scene from The Fellowship of the Ring. (2016). YouTube. Retrieved 26 August 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1Vyhve9gtg

Star Wars Episode 2 Attack of The Clones Droid Factory HD. (2016). YouTube. Retrieved 26 August 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3HjP1DYi5WQ

I, Robot (1/5) Movie CLIP – Rogue Robot (2004) HD. (2016). YouTube. Retrieved 26 August 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ouht1xip9NQ

LOTR – Fool of a Took. (2016). YouTube. Retrieved 26 August 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cZ4ABUo6TU

 

 

Leave a comment